Fritz Fey was born on 14 March 1940 in Lübeck as the son of puppeteer Fritz Fey Sr. He had been a cameraman for the German television channel NDR for 35 years with photographic posts in Switzerland. During his professional career as cameraman he started his collecting fever in 1971 and subsequently became a passionate lover of theater puppets.

Whenever Fey and his television crew traveled the world, he never missed an opportunity to discover and purchase new theater puppets during his breaks and free time. The more Fey collected, the bigger became his stock of the puppets, musical instruments, posters, shadow puppets and pictures, and he discovered the cultural value of the exhibits and their implications for research and science.

Fey’s collection had already reached a worldwide meaningful size, when, with the help of the city of Lübeck and the Possehl Foundation, his musuem of theater puppets was founded in 1982. At the end of 2012, Fritz and his wife Saraswathi handed the collection and museum over to the Possehl Foundation. By that time, the museum celebrated its 30th anniversary since foundation and has welcomed one million visitors from around the world.

Fritz Fey and his wife Saraswathi enjoy worldwide contacts to cultural and art experts, as well as to collectors. A national focus is India, where Saraswathi Fey was born, and Abu Dhabi which is an important international exchange location for the collection as well.

Fritz Fey's vision is to establish a research facility with scientific studies, lectures and excursions of the culturally valuable exhibits. A small part of the puppets and instruments can be explored on this website.

Fritz Fey wurde am 14. März 1940 in Lübeck geboren. Der Sohn des Puppenspielers Fritz Fey sen. hatte fotografische Stationen in der Schweiz und war 35 Jahre lang Kameramann beim NDR-Fernsehen. Der passionierte Theaterfigurenliebhaber begann seine Sammelleidenschaft im Jahre 1971.
Immer, wenn Fey zusammen mit dem Fernsehteam die Welt bereiste, ließ er keine Gelegenheit aus, in den Pausen und freien Zeiten Theaterfiguren zu entdecken und zu kaufen. Je mehr Fey sammelte, desto größer wurde nicht nur der Bestand an Puppen, Musikinstrumenten, Plakaten, Schattenfiguren und Fotos – Fritz Fey entdeckte den kulturellen Wert der Exponate und deren Bedeutung für Forschung und Wissenschaft.
Die Fey’sche Sammlung hatte bereits eine weltweit bedeutungsvolle Größe angenommen, als der Lübecker mit Hilfe der Stadt und der Possehl-Stiftung im Jahre 1982 das Theaterfiguren Museum gründen konnte. Ende 2012 haben Fritz und seine Ehefrau Saraswathi Fey Sammlung und Museum an die Possehl-Stiftung abgegeben. Zu dieser Zeit hatte das Museum hatte sein 30-jähriges Bestehen und konnte seit Gründung eine Million Besucher aus aller Welt begrüßen.

Fritz Fey und seine Frau Saraswathi knüpfen und vernetzen weltweite Kontakte zu Kultur- und Kunstexperten sowie zu Sammlern. Ein Länderschwerpunkt bildet Indien, wo Saraswathi Fey geboren ist. Aber auch Abu Dabhi zählen zu den internationalen Austauschadressen.

Fritz Feys Visionen sind die Gründung einer Forschungseinrichtung mit wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen, Vorträgen und Exkursiuonen der kulturell wertvollen Exponate. Ein Teil der Figuren und Instrumente ist auf dieser Internetseite zu finden.

Fritz Fey

- Sammlungen
- Studiofotografie
- Wissenschaftliche Beratungen
- Sachverständige Begutachtungen
- Dokumentationen